Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Mendel - Sydney

Posted by JamesG 
Mendel - Sydney
May 23, 2010 04:12AM
Hi there

I am new to the Reprap scene, have read through most of the posts here and thought it might be a good thing to start a Mendel specific thread.

I am planning on putting a couple of machines together as part of a Winter studio that I am running at UTS (Architecture) with about 3 students in each team to speed things up.

The aim is to make rapid prototyping much cheaper and more accessible and also to start an active group here in Sydney that can help each other out, develop new applications and have some fun with these machines.

I had previously thought that this would just be a UTS thing, but it would make sense to have some active involvement from outside to help build a community in Sydney.

I have posted a couple of messages on other topics, sorry to repeat.

Would be great to speak/post with others that have put a Mendel machine together, bought the parts, can print parts for a Mendel and have experience running the machine.

Look forward to hearing your thoughts

James
Re: Mendel - Sydney
May 24, 2010 02:47AM
Look forward to hearing your thoughts

You guys have a laser cutter ... [reprap.org] ?

grinning smiley

-Sebastien, RepRap.org library gnome.

Remember, you're all RepRap developers (once you've joined the super-secret developer mailing list), and the wiki, RepRap.org, [reprap.org] is for everyone and everything! grinning smiley
May 25, 2010 07:56PM
Hey there Sebastien

We do have a laser cutter, I am not sure what the maximum thickness it can cut but I have seen it cut what looked like 3mm mDF. I am pretty sure it could cut out all of the thin panels, will enquire whether it can cut the thick ones too.

Would be good to get some sharing of resources going.

James
May 26, 2010 08:03PM
Ok, I talked to the workshop yesterday regarding laser cutter and other machines.