Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

3Dify.org

Posted by Kryptonit3 
3Dify.org
March 06, 2014 01:45AM
Well, here goes...

I created 3Dify.org as a non-profit site for the reprap community to have a 'non-associated' dedicated site where they could host their 3D printable works of art.
It will be clean, simple and yet maintain a lot of the advanced features you find on other sites such as Thingiverse like 'Likes', 'Comments' etc.

It will be home to hosted objects only. It will not 'link' out to 3rd party sites. I would eventually like the site to partner and be recognized as the RepRap community 'Go-To'.

Would love for it to be a community driven and built site. Have PHP skills? Familiar with Laravel and MVC structuring of site code? Send me a message. Be part of the project.

As of right now it is just me. I am a contract cable technician with a strong passion for web design and web development.
For those that have knowledge of contract technicians, you know we work six days a week, 7am - 6ish:pm most days. I try to code and add features in between jobs,
and hours after I get off work.

I know a lot of the issues with all the 3D hosted sites on the net at the moment is categorization/tagging and searching. If the creator didn't categorize their object properly
and/or failed to add tags or add descriptive tags it is hard to find what you are looking for. So one feature that is on the list is community suggested tags and re-categorization
that will send a message/email to the creator that the community has suggestions to improve their object listing.

I am also very proficient at web SEO (search engine optimization) so major search engines will index the objects proficiently, thus bringing in more organic traffic and possibly
new members to the reprap community.

I am very open to suggestions, comments, questions.