I don't know anything about engineering, I'm actually majoring in economics but I'm just thinking about the implications of people having 3d printing in their homes.

Would it be conceivable for one of these relatively affordable home 3d printers to work with high performance plastics and make an AK-47 for example?
Re: High Performance plastics and Automatic weapons
May 07, 2010 01:17PM
> Would it be conceivable for one of these relatively affordable home 3d printers to work with high performance plastics and make an AK-47 for example?

Yes. It probably would be more efficient though, to take an existing weapon, and convert it to fully automatic, than to create it from scratch.
May 07, 2010 04:02PM
I'm skeptical. There are more suitable guns to build a plastic receiver for.
[www.surplusrifle.com]

Good luck printing a barrel without laser sintering.

Edited 3 time(s). Last edit at 05/07/2010 04:31PM by JohnnyCooper.
May 07, 2010 06:25PM
Don't worry I am just working on a reprappable bullet proof vest. I shall post it up on thingiverse when its complete.

I am having trouble though extruding kevlar....can anyone help?
May 07, 2010 06:43PM
JohnnyCooper Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> I'm skeptical. There are more suitable guns to
> build a plastic receiver for.
> [www.surplusrifle.com]
> s1/index.asp
>
> Good luck printing a barrel without laser
> sintering.