Hello

Posted by Mikeemoto 
Hello
January 02, 2014 11:38AM
Hello everyone
Mike here from Scotland
Spent the past few days building no331
Well it's not finished yet

As a day job I'm a prototype engineer , so building this should have been a piece of cake
Now I realise that there's a need for profit on this product , but hellfire be lucky if there's £100 worth of stuff in the box
Anyway ,working on the x-axis at the moment ,the "laser cut" parts have a warp on them , and I'm hoping there's going to be a way to tie them together
The x carriage won't run along it happily atall ,
Other issues , y axis belt won't stay locked in place no matter how many bits of paper I wedge in place , needs a tensioner on it and a more positive way of fastening the belt
The roller bearings that run on the Bosch extrusion need adjusters ,not sticky tape
The Bosch section could be tied together more positively ,then perhaps one alignment issue would be lessend
And they might of specced hardened ground rod for the linear bearing rails

Sadly not too impressed so far

Mike
Re: Hello
January 02, 2014 12:43PM
Hi Mike,
Guess I'm in a different camp, but respect your views, I also worked in proof of concept, prototypes and small productions, but I was amazed at what was in the box for the price!
The controller board with stepper motor drivers alone is £100+
Then there is the 4 stepper motors,
pre-assembled wiring looms,
heater plate.
hot end parts
laser cut parts
metal guides and extrusions
PSU
and all the 3D printed parts, that's got to be good value!
In my last job we paid £500+ for a few machined parts.......
January 02, 2014 01:05PM
Yeah maybe I was a bit harsh there those steppers are about £12 a go , similar price for the drivers , so that's maybe a hundred
Tho at wholesale price about half that
Bosch extrusions not dear ,tenner a bit, silver steel £6 a length , couple of quid average for the bearings
Custom looms maybe £5 each ,less based on a 500 qty order
Maybe £200

Anyway ,
Crack on