Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Support Material - when is it needed

Posted by tracyb 
Support Material - when is it needed
March 24, 2014 08:43AM
So I am getting around to making some improvements to my printer and am going to be reprinting the Duet housing, I am printing it much deeper and altering it a bit so that the fan housing I have made will fit. Does anyone know how the power and SD card slots were printed? Did they have support material? Surely if they did not the print would not be such good quality and the "top" of the hole would have considerable sag. I want to do a similar thing to the ethernet housing. I am about to try using the default support material setting in slic3r but since I have never used it before I am worried about what the final product will look like.

Ormerod 313
Re: Support Material - when is it needed
March 24, 2014 08:54AM
I reprinted the Duet housing a few weeks ago using the standard Ormerod settings for slic3r and the holes printed perfectly with no sag. How are you making the housing deeper? I have loaded up the stl files but have not been able to change anything. What program are you using?

appjaws - Core XYUV Duet Ethernet Duex5
firmware 3.1.1 Web Interface 3.1.1
Ormerod 1-converted to laser engraver, Duet wifi
OpenSCAD version 2020.07
slic3r-1.3.0, Simplify3D 4.1.2, Cura-4.4.1
March 24, 2014 10:25AM
I am using solidworks to make the case deeper. I also wanted to enclose the ethernet plug but am worried that doing that without a sopport will cause problems because it is a fairly wide gap to cover. If it works I can give you the stl of the modified case.

Ormerod 313
March 24, 2014 10:30AM