Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Hot end fan suddenly slow to spin up

Posted by bartdietrich 
Hot end fan suddenly slow to spin up
May 06, 2015 03:47AM
Hi all,

My hot end fan takes 30-60 or so seconds to spin up to what is presumably full speed after the printer has been turned off for any length of time (like overnight). At first it doesn't spin at all, with only the occasional stepwise lurch forward. When helped along manually, it does a few steps under its own steam then stops again. It gradually picks up speed until it's constant after a minute or so. Almost as if its supply voltage wasn't up to the full 12V on turning the machine on but took some time to build up to that value. Once the fan is spinning, it stays so and 4-5 hour prints come out ok (to the extent that my prints can be called "ok", I'm still new to this and playing around with Slic3r settings).

It also used to be bloody loud until I gave the spindle a squirt of WD40. Incidentally, this is around the time that the spin-up issue started. Coincidence or correlation? Please don't shake my belief that if WD40 or duct tape don't fix it, then it can't be fixed.

Cheers,
Bart
Re: Hot end fan suddenly slow to spin up
May 06, 2015 04:36AM
If it's one of those cheap and nasty little fans, the bearings have probably gummed up or failed. I've got through about 3 or 4 so far. sad smiley

Sometimes you can peel off the label and get at the bearing - put a tiny drop of thin OIL on it (about as much as you can get on the end of a length of wire is enough). Note I wrote OIL, as WD40 is a water dispersant (WD) not a lubricant. It might clean stuff away, but it won't make stuff run any better.

If you can't get at the bearings, then it's replacement time. In fact, it's worth ordering a new one as mine never lasted long after lubrication.
May 06, 2015 05:16AM
Hi David,