Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Proximity sensor value check

Posted by IPushedHumpty 
Proximity sensor value check
July 07, 2015 01:11PM
Hi ladies and Gentleman, boys and girls, tech gurus of all ages,

I need some advice please. I was given an "Ormerod 1" however during the commissioning stage I'm getting an unusual value from the proximity sensor. I'm new to 3D printing and engineering so I might just be being overly cautious so forgive me if this is the case. I've searched the message board posts but couldn't find anything like this, only when values are greatly in excess or refusing to change when covered, so any advice would be greatly appreciate.

With Z-axis 20-30mm away from the base running G31 command; In a sunlight lite room the values returned are around 150-250. In a dark room values of 75-100. And with white paper up to the sensor I get the correct range of 940-980.

I've checked the wiring and connections which seems to be ok, as well as making sure the blue wire is on pin 6 rather than 9 of the expansion header since my firmware is updated to 1.09 on both the SD card and hardware (I did also check it against pin 9).

Am I OK to still run with figures like 75-250 or am I correct in assuming something wrong since the guide states values averaging 20 should be returned. I read that if the results where remaining constant then it is most likely a problem with the ADC caused by a short, although since mine is giving me the correct sensor reading when the PS is covered I am assuming this isn't the case. I'm going to check the PS with a multimeter later today however if this is working ok is there anything else you can suggest?

Sorry if this is a dumb question.

I have attached pics just in case you spot something I have missed.

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 07/07/2015 01:14PM by IPushedHumpty.
Attachments:
open | download - Results.jpg (164.4 KB)
open | download - Duet.jpg (319.8 KB)
open | download - PS close.jpg (150.8 KB)