Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

DUET burnt track - Heated bed no longer working

Posted by rpbh99 
DUET burnt track - Heated bed no longer working
January 26, 2016 10:11AM
I have been using my Ormerod 2 for several months with no issues. Today the heated bed started to heat up as usual, then stopped. with no LED. I have discovered that the DUET 0.6 has burnt out a track to the right of the 12volt connector for the heater. Is there a repair for this, and what might have caused it? Clearly I cannot claim under warranty due to the closure of RepRapPro, so any help woul dbe much appreciated.
Re: DUET burnt track - Heated bed no longer working
January 26, 2016 12:49PM
Can't say without seeing a photo of the damage.

Large delta printer [miscsolutions.wordpress.com], E3D tool changer, Robotdigg SCARA printer, Crane Quad and Ormerod

Disclosure: I design Duet electronics and work on RepRapFirmware, [duet3d.com].
January 27, 2016 03:57AM
I have attached a photo of the damage. After using a jumper to replace the burnt track, the heater is working again, however I am concerned that the problem may re-occur, perhaps doing even more damage. I measured the resistance of the heated bed and get 0.8 ohms. The instructions state this should be 1.3 ohms, however, when building the Ormerod, I contacted Ian at RRP who said that 0.8 was OK.

I wondered about putting a resistor in series with the heated bed to reduce the current. Not being an electronics guy, I don't know if this would be a good idea, or what resistor to use. Any thoughts?

BTW, the printer has been in use since July, but there has been a strange smell (presumably the track burning) for a few months, but it wasn't obviously a burning smell, more like TCP.

Thanks
Attachments:
open | download - Duet.jpg (171.8 KB)
January 27, 2016 06:47AM