Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

The Progression of Kit278

Posted by victors 
The Progression of Kit278
January 03, 2014 07:46AM
Hi guys

I received my kit 278 around 2 weeks ago. Much excitement which turned into great disappointment over the next 5 days. And just as I started getting the first part printed I ended in hospital with a nasty kidney stone (as painful as advertised!) and lost nearly 2 weeks. But I am OK again... thus back to my machine. I am an electronic engineer and I have my own 50m² man-cave with a machine shop next door. So this should have been simple. But is was not. I had many of the same problems many of the others complain(ed) about. So far I agree with a few that this product was not well thought through at all. The price I ended up paying was equivalent to what my sister in-law takes home, per month, as an HR manager. I know it was much cheaper than other Reprap models but what made it attractive was the wonderful ad I received from RS. BTW, I am based near Johannesburg, South Africa. Some of you might feel it is a mainstream country (seeing that the world hailed that $%^ ex-president bomb planting terrorist as a god and hero last month) but it is out of the way and difficult to get one-off units. So RS's offer was really a breath of fresh air. The ad mentioned that it came in kit form and could be assembled in 2 hours. I ordered within 48 hours from that ad. Now, if you can lie about that then the rest is also suspect. Some of my problems (which many might have):

1) Y axis. Really flimsy. The plywood kept popping off the single slider bearing. It needs to be fastened somehow. PLAN: Cable tie it or something. It just cannot work like this.