Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Slic3r Help Please

Posted by KimBrown 
Slic3r Help Please
January 20, 2014 08:28PM
Hi, I'm new to all this, but learning fast.
Ok I've got a step closer but if you look at the picture you'll see my gear isn't going to cut it.
I have two problems.
1) the in fill (you can see through it. So I stopped it).
2) is a printer setting problem I think, in those stray full on strands that haven't stuck in the holes.

If any one has a working gcode of the extruder drive gears could you attach them please, as I'm sure if I don't get them printed soon I need them when I can't print them.

I know the printer is good as it's printed some really good prints. So its my slic3r settings, and temps.
Thanks
Kim..
Attachments:
open | download - Gear Fail.jpg (331.5 KB)
Re: Slic3r Help Please
January 21, 2014 03:15AM
The Official slic3r settings for the Ormerod can be found here [github.com], you need to copy these to the right place so slic3r can find them, this varies depending on which operating system you are using its all explained here [www.reprappro.com].

I'd suggest trying a lower head temp, lots have found success between 180 - 190ish, also the retraction (reverse extrusion) on moves, is set to 1 mm most have increased this to at least 2.5mm, I also found it useful to increase the size of the skirt before printing to ensure the filament is flowing before the first layer starts.

hope this helps

Matt

Limited Edition Red RS Ormerod 1 #144 of 200 - RRP 1.09fw
iamburnys Ormerod Upgrades Github
Follow me on ThingiVerse My Designs
January 21, 2014 03:51AM
It looks to me that your first layer wasn't put down properly. Some suggestions:

1. In the slic3r settings, increase the number of skirt loops to 3 and increase the distance from print to skirt to a larger value, say 20mm. This gives the printer more time to get the filament flowing properly, which is needed because of the bowden-style extruder.