Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

ABS Ormerod parts

Posted by KevM 
ABS Ormerod parts
February 03, 2014 05:19AM
Hi everyone,

Anyone know of anyone who is producing replacement Ormerod parts in ABS to sell ?

I'm new to 3D printing and love the Ormerod but I'd like to print with ABS eventually and don't want to run the risk of melting my Ormerod's PLA parts to do it.

Thanks.
Re: ABS Ormerod parts
February 03, 2014 05:41AM
KevM
I don't know of the long term effects of printing ABS on an Omerod will be. But I have been printing with it now for a week or so and have not detected any damage to the printer. I'm sure you can print a spare set of parts before any damaged is incurred

John
February 03, 2014 05:55AM
Why not print a spare set of the critical parts in PLA first? Then you will have some to fall back on if you don't manage to print ABS replacements before the PLA ones distort too much.

Large delta printer [miscsolutions.wordpress.com], E3D tool changer, Robotdigg SCARA printer, Crane Quad and Ormerod

Disclosure: I design Duet electronics and work on RepRapFirmware, [duet3d.com].
February 03, 2014 06:19AM
Like johneato, I've been printing in abs on mine for some time, without any obvious effects (I've had to replace a few parts for other reasons though) - as dc42 suggests, running off some spares in PLA would be a good idea, then print off the critical bits in abs when you can. (reprappro has a list of critical bits in the commissioning notes, off the top of my head, the Xcarriage , hotend bracket and Z runner mount would be the ones I'd do - victors who's in South Africa with a much higher ambient than the UK had definite problems with the first two in that list).

Ray
February 03, 2014 11:09AM
My ambient temperature around 30-32 C and I tried to print ABS fan duct, heatsink duct, nozzle mount and X carriage so that I can replace it and print ABS without fear.