Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Double Helix Extruder Gears - iamburny Style cool smiley

Posted by iamburny 
Double Helix Extruder Gears - iamburny Style cool smiley
February 04, 2014 08:36AM
Following on from yesterdays double helix Z Gears [forums.reprap.org], I thought i'd have a bash at some extruder gears too (just so it all matches!!)

I'm pretty pleased with the results, I have also started a new Github repository for the STL's and scad files for my Upgrades, most of the files are now too big to be attached to posts, plus github has a lovely STL viewer =)

Ormerod Upgrade Github

Limited Edition Red RS Ormerod 1 #144 of 200 - RRP 1.09fw
iamburnys Ormerod Upgrades Github
Follow me on ThingiVerse My Designs
Re: Double Helix Extruder Gears - iamburny Style cool smiley
February 04, 2014 08:39AM
I'm a novice when it comes to gears (and mechanical engineering generally), so can you tell me what is the advantage in this application of double helix gears over single helix gears?

Large delta printer [miscsolutions.wordpress.com], E3D tool changer, Robotdigg SCARA printer, Crane Quad and Ormerod

Disclosure: I design Duet electronics and work on RepRapFirmware, [duet3d.com].
February 04, 2014 08:50AM
Apart from looking very pretty, I found there to be significantly less play in the gears, I believe the technical advantages are to do with smoother delivery of power so ideal for the extruder if you have a high retraction setting.

the wikipedia page is sparse but confirms my thoughts [en.wikipedia.org]

Matt

February 04, 2014 09:01AM
Single helical gears give smooth drive, but also have axial forces on them. Simple trigonometry on the angle of the helix, will turn the torque into that force.
The double helix is slightly less smooth (the length of the gear tooth is half), but it does cancel out any axial forces.
Greg

Ormerod #17
February 04, 2014 09:02AM
Thanks, Matt.