Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Printing Speed

Posted by mjdj 
Printing Speed
April 15, 2014 09:14AM
Hi All,

I am very new to 3d printing and have owned my Ormerod for a few months now. After making some of the upgrades and modifications suggested on here (that you all for your good work) I am starting to produce some good results. I am currently using the default Ormerod Slic3r settings provided my RepRap. I was wondering if anyone has had any luck tinkering with the settings to speed the prints up a bit. Am curious as to at what point will speed increases start affecting the print quality. I do plan to have a play around with the settings myself but don't have nearly as much time as I'd like to play around with it. I was woundering if any one can suggest which settings are best to adjust, what to adjust/not adjust or any settings any of you have found work peticually well.

Thanks in advance for an help / advice

Mark
Re: Printing Speed
April 15, 2014 11:24AM
I did change the speed a bit in the infill speed from 20 to 40 also the solid infill to 35 and the top/bottom infill to 30.
This help me print a bit faster but it may not significantly. I print a part with default 20 in all speed setting that took 12 hours.
After adjust the speed mention i can finish in 10 hours saving 2 hours on the same part. But this may be another factor involve which i don't know.
Btw. The print quality is as good as the setting before change according to my eye can see, but i don't know the inside i.e infill etc having any different or not.
April 15, 2014 12:11PM