Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Printing Problems

Posted by robbycar 
Printing Problems
May 08, 2014 12:33AM
Hi Folks,

I am hoping someone can suggest a way to get around my problem!

Firstly, I am a newbie trying to do my first print. But, I do have quite a bit of experience with CNC equipment and I own a CNC mill.

I have done everything as directed in the commissioning instructions. Axes home correctly, and the heaters work.

Did bed compensation, and saved this in the setbed.g file.

Manually set Z0.

But, when I try to do a print, the nozzle lowers until it hits the glass, then the Z stepper just keeps on lowering ad infinitum and I have to disconnect the power.

I have tried this 3 times with the same results for both the Christmas decoration as well as the compensation piece.

Any ideas would be gratefully received as I am at my wits end.

Rob.
Re: Printing Problems
May 08, 2014 01:32AM
Hi Rob, Welcome....
Hmmmm ok, I got caught out like this, and it was because I was using G31, instead of G92 to set the Axi up Manualy...

If you set the Z manualy, lower the nozzle till it's touching the glass then send:-
G92 Z0

Actualy.... Before you do that, (if your using ProntFace) press the Get Pos button, and see where it thinks the Nozzle is.

I'd like to help you with the Compensation side if I could, but found it so confusing that I gave up using it, and run a level bed.
Which is a darn side easier to do when you stiffen the bed.

The thing I found I was doing when I was trying to set up the compensation, was I moved the nozzle around the 4 points, and then
used the Z axis to measure the distance.... MMMmmm then by chance I noticed the Z-axis gearing moving, and realised I was doing the measurements with compensation turned on... i.e. the readings weren't right at all....