Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Building an Ormerod

Posted by imekon 
Building an Ormerod
June 12, 2014 03:17AM
So I've finished building my Ormerod and done my first print, and there are a few things to sort out.

This is my first 3D printer and I tried to follow the instructions on the RepRapPro website with the photographs. I got a few things wrong and found a few weak areas. I should say I'm an electronics engineer who switched to software engineer very early in my career, so fiddling with hardware is not unusual for me.

• I put the large connector on the ribbon cable on the wrong way. I should have paid more attention to the markings on the cable in the photo rather than the description.
  • The Y axis bed and band - locating the band in the MDF bed was fiddly and eventually fell off during printing. I've since fixed it in place with a cable tie.
  • The X axis band fitting on the motor in a recessed hole with the motor in the way was the fiddliest part of construction. I think I got it to work by sheer luck.
  • Somehow the photographis of the extruder assembly confused me enough for me to put it together wrong. Burr on the plastic component prevented it all sliding into place.
  • Getting the plastic cogs on the motors was very tight. I had to use a wood block and hammer to make them fit. Then I descovered I'd put the extruder motor cog on upside down!
  • I've never done crimping before so I mangled the connector for the bed thermistor. I had to remove that and replace it with a better connector.
  • The Z probe connector has lugs that simply get in the way. I've no idea how that was supposed to work. It seems to work itself loose, so I thought. Sometimes, even now after I've made some improvements, homing X fails.
  • The documentation for homez.g doesn't mention you need to update homeall.g as well otherwise when a print homes all, it can do the wrong thing - like bury the head in the bed.