Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Anyone interested in an LCD control panel for the Ormerod?

Posted by dc42 
Re: Anyone interested in an LCD control panel for the Ormerod?
October 12, 2014 09:44AM
dmould
kwikius
Looking good DC42

I somewhat hesitate to say this ( but decided to put it out there!) but what springs to my mind is to use the display for a close up view of what is going on at the print head. ie from a video camera. I appreciate this would definitely amount to feature and cost creep, but the QVGA display is perfect for the task I think. A webcam might work but looks like would need USB2 to get a good framerate, though I am no expert on the subject.

Anyway maybe I should put this in a separate thread?

regards
Andy

That would mean a complete redesign!

I prefer the term "Kiler Application". smiling smiley With my failing eyesight I am often straining to see what details are coming out and how well a print is going. A camera would be ideal.

Anyway I appreciate it would be a complete redesign. I have been thinking about it for a while and finally decided to air it here rather than put it in a separate thread. Its related so I hope relevant to the subject. and would otherwise surely be a bit surprising. I already have something I could use for demoing it, but based on video camera , but that is basically an OSD and needs a display to view it. so a nice marriage!
Ignoring hardware The layout and much of the software could be similar to the LCD display that DC42 is designing..

regards
Andy

Ormerod #318
www.zoomworks.org - Free and Open Source Stuff smiling smiley
October 12, 2014 12:38PM