Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Clip required for mk1 Ormerod to use Alumimum X-Arm upgrade

Posted by Brirob44 
Clip required for mk1 Ormerod to use Alumimum X-Arm upgrade
February 15, 2015 09:49AM
Hi All,

Can anyone help please I am new to 3D printing and have just purchased an Ormerod Mk1 Kit, I have already purchased Davek's Aluminium upgrade bed. Also his Aluminium X-Arm Kit so I can fit whilst building, I also need a clip that helps lock the extruder on which I can also install when building, if someone could make one of these clips for me I will pay for the materials time and P&P. I assume it would need to be made of ABS and not PLA for strength, see link below for clip thread and downloadable file.

[forums.reprap.org]

Thank you in Advance,
Re: Clip required for mk1 Ormerod to use Alumimum X-Arm upgrade
February 15, 2015 05:04PM
You can print OK without that clip, just make sure the extruder is not tilted so as to hit the X carriage. I've been printing fine without it for over a year (and have had an aluminium X arm for at least 6 months). If you are planning to print with ABS you will need to reprint quite a few parts and can upgrade to whatever designs you want when you do so.

Dave
February 16, 2015 07:06AM
Hi Dave,

Thank you for your reply from what you are saying it looks like I could build the printer, then print off the part myself would any disassembly be required to fit it ?

I would still prefer to obtain the part so I could fit during initial assembly, from what you said and from looking at other information printed in PLA would work fine.

Brian.
February 16, 2015 07:46AM