Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

dc42 firmware - nozzle heater PID

Posted by Radian 
dc42 firmware - nozzle heater PID
April 29, 2015 07:26AM
I'm wondering if I'm seeing expected behavior when the PID starts chopping the heater drive here:

(75 Seconds of proportional control before the target temp is reached and printing starts)

I've reverted to the default PID params after replacing the ATX PSU with a 13.8V 25A desktop unit which has increased the warm-up times considerably. The heater cartridge seems OK given the steep rise in temperature before PWM kicks in. Just wondering if this is normal or indicative of something wrong.

firmware 1.04e-dc42

RS Components Reprap Ormerod No. 481
Re: dc42 firmware - nozzle heater PID
April 29, 2015 08:11AM
I don't think there's anything physically wrong with your system, just one of your PID values needs to be adjusted slightly to reduce the slow warm up time.

I'm not an expert of PID controllers, but I think you'll probably need to increase the Integral slightly.... Here's what the Wiki says: [reprap.org]

For manual adjustments:
if it overshoots a lot and oscillates, either the integral gain needs to be increased or all gains should be reduced
Too much overshoot? Increase D, decrease P.
Response too damped? Increase P.
Ramps up quickly to a value below target temperature (0-160 fast) and then slows down as it approaches target (160-170 slow, 170-180 really slow, etc) temperature? Try increasing the I constant.

However, DC42 should know for sure, as he seems to have a good understanding of PID.
April 29, 2015 08:17AM
You can increase the I term, but that is likely to result in overshoot. I suggest increasing either the S term or the T term - either should work.

Large delta printer [miscsolutions.wordpress.com], E3D tool changer, Robotdigg SCARA printer, Crane Quad and Ormerod

Disclosure: I design Duet electronics and work on RepRapFirmware, [duet3d.com].
April 29, 2015 11:01AM
DC42