Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Some questions about the design

Posted by Treito 
Some questions about the design
September 25, 2015 01:51PM
Hello,

as building an Ormerod 2 from nearly scratch I studied the design and maybe someone can help me with some design questions. I like the newer design of the MK2 more than the MK1. You can really find good choices of making the Ormerod better. So here are the questions:

1) Why a MXL belt was used? It seems that a GT2 belt is much better as it does not suffer from backlash and you get a better amount of steps for millimeters compared to the MXL belt which is more meant for the Americans and their inch system.
2) Theoretically: If I exchange the MXL belt with an GT2 belt would I achieve a better resolution?
3) To think further: If I would use a 16 teeth GT2 pulley and belt I can achieve 100 microsteps per mm so in theory I should achieve a better accuracy. Does this work?
4) And adding on top: Replacing the motors with 0.9° and using 3) I could achieve 200 microsteps per mm so one step gives me an accuracy of 0.005mm in theory.

I think eliminating every error gives a better accuracy so in my eyes point 2 or 3 are good options as I am loosing possible calculation errors, but what do you think?

Best regards,

Sven

Slicer: Simplify3D 4.0; sometimes CraftWare 1.14 or Cura 2.7
Delta with Duet-WiFi, FW: 1.20.1RC2; mini-sensor board by dc42 for auto-leveling
Ormerod common modifications: Mini-sensor board by dc42, aluminum X-arm, 0.4 mm nozzle E3D like, 2nd fan, Z stepper nut M5 x 15, Herringbone gears, Z-axis bearing at top, spring loaded extruder with pneumatic fitting, Y belt axis tensioner
Ormerod 2: FW: 1.19-dc42 on Duet-WiFi. own build, modifications: GT2-belts, silicone heat-bed, different motors and so on. Printed parts: bed support, (PSU holder) and Y-feet.
Ormerod 1: FW: 1.15c-dc42 on 1k Duet-Board. Modifications: Aluminium bed-support, (nearly) all parts reprinted in PLA/ ABS, and so on.