Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Ormerod 2 PSU output voltage

Posted by Jasharrar 
Ormerod 2 PSU output voltage
October 12, 2015 12:18PM
Hi Everyone

I'm new to printing and to ormerod but I have an issue. I have built my machine and initially it worked fine. Fans running as they should be and it was extruding as I expected. However then I switched it off and then back on. But this time the extruder fan worked for a few seconds then died. I checked the wiring which was fine but then I checked the voltage on the fan wiring loom and the input voltage on the duo but the voltage was 25v and I thought it was supposed to be 12v. I checked the voltage on the PSU output and that was 25v. There is a small screw to adjust voltage on the psu.

Has anyone else experience this before? I have emailed support but unfortunately they haven't replied.

Many thanks in advance

Jas
Re: Ormerod 2 PSU output voltage
October 12, 2015 12:28PM
Sounds to me that a component in the voltage regulation circuitry of the PSU has failed.

Large delta printer [miscsolutions.wordpress.com], E3D tool changer, Robotdigg SCARA printer, Crane Quad and Ormerod

Disclosure: I design Duet electronics and work on RepRapFirmware, [duet3d.com].
October 12, 2015 12:31PM
Thanks should I fiddle with the voltage screw or avoid this?

Jas
October 12, 2015 12:51PM
With the power off, you could try turning it through its whole range a few times just in case it has developed a bad contact between the slider and the track. Then put it back to about where it was before. But I expect the problem lies elsewhere.

Large delta printer [miscsolutions.wordpress.com], E3D tool changer, Robotdigg SCARA printer, Crane Quad and Ormerod

October 12, 2015 01:22PM
Thanks just tried that but lowest voltage is 21v so it must be the PSU that has died. Shame since its less than a week old. And has only been powered on for 1 day!

Many thanks for your help
October 12, 2015 01:27PM