Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Trouble with the y-axis bearing belt clamp

Posted by 1pennyshort 
Trouble with the y-axis bearing belt clamp
October 27, 2015 01:47PM
Hi everyone, newbie here with a question.

I am having a heck of a time getting the belt into the y-axis bearing belt clamp. This is the step I am stuck at. I do not want to go ape on it and also think that using a small screwdriver or tweezers could nick and damage the belt.
Is there any trick to getting the belt through? It seems like it would and should be a tight fit. I tried filing the edges a bit, but no luck.

Maybe I have a bad print of the clamp? It's a replikeo kit.

Thanks!

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 10/27/2015 09:12PM by 1pennyshort.
Re: Trouble with the y-axis bearing belt clamp
October 28, 2015 05:27AM
The MXL belt should fit in there quite tightly. Getting to this point can be a bit tricky and AFAIR I used a pair of pliers to push it in, but not with excessive force. I haven't had a Replikeo kit yet, so I don't know how good their printed parts are, but if the belt really doesn't fit you can carefully enlarge the slot a bit more with a knife or so. Also take care to get a good tension on the belt, else your resolution on the Y-axis won't be very high.
October 28, 2015 09:29AM
Thanks! I think the gap in the bracket was simply too narrow. The slot where the combined ends of the belt fit was 1mm too tight, there was no way to push the belt in.
What I ended up doing is filing and sanding to enlarge the slot and in the end used pliers as you said to push it in. It took forever, but looks good now, time will tell how well it holds.

In the meantime, I'll print a spare bracket, just in case.
October 28, 2015 10:32AM
1pennyshort

Very good idea. Besides my printed ones for my Ormerod 2 are also to small but they was printed by me so I cannot tell if this is a generally problem or not.

Slicer: Simplify3D 4.0; sometimes CraftWare 1.14 or Cura 2.7