Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Madmike8's Smartrap Build

Posted by madmike8 
Madmike8's Smartrap Build
March 30, 2014 12:06AM
I'm new to 3D printing, and I'm going to use this thread to document my build / experience, and provide the information I've learned for others.

Smartrap BOM

As best as I can tell this is my complete List of parts
used in my Smartrap build.

• SmartRap Printed Parts
• 4x Nema17 Stepper Motors
• 1x Arduino Mega 2560 (Marlin Firmware from Smartrap Github)
• 1x RAMPS 1.4
• 4x 4988 Stepper Drivers
• 3.7g Servo (swap + and - wires in the connector)
• 1x 12v Power Supply >=5amp (I'm using a Xbox360 PS)
• 3x Micro Switches (Endstops wired NC and COM)
• 1x Mk7 Extruder Drive Gear
• 1x (Huxley or J Head) Hot End (I used Huxley so list may not be accurate for Jhead)
• Braided Fishing Line (I'm using 50lb Test Line)
• 2x Smooth 8mm rod L300mm Z
• 4x Smooth 8mm rod L240mm (I'm 300mm On Y and X too)
• 1x Rod threaded M5 220mm (I'm using 300mm)
• 12x LM8UU Bearings
• 1x 608zz skate bearing
• 3x M4 60mm
• 14x M3 10mm
• 8x M3 16mm
• 5x M3 20mm
• 3x M3 30mm
• 1x M5 Nut
• 3x M4 nuts
• 10x M3 nuts
• Wiring / Connectors
• Glass Bed (I'm using 2x 8.5" x 11" picture frames stacked. $2 each from Walmart)
Re: Madmike8's Smartrap Build
March 31, 2014 12:59AM
Progress...

I had read somewhere that Serge had wired his endstops NO and COM, so that's how I wired mine. I used M119 to determine all the Endstops were "Triggered" when the button was not pressed. That was wrong. Today I rewired them to the proper NC and COM, and M119 shows them as "Open" until pressed. Now the machine Homes correctly. So, I need to set the angle for the servo arm for the probe. I performed M280 P0 Sx (where x is the angle for the arm.). For my servo M280 P0 S10 was right for retraction, and M280 P0 S88 was right for extension. I edited this line in the Marlin Configuration.h file.

//smartrap : version pololu servo (dark blue)