Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Madmike8's Smartrap Build

Posted by madmike8 
Re: Madmike8's Smartrap Build
July 04, 2014 01:15PM
For anyone thinking of doing this, PLEASE think SAFETY first. A 2+ Watt laser is dangerous! Even the reflections off this can cause serious damage to your eyes. While the glasses are a must have for anyone in the room, also remember safety for your pets too. I think an enclosure of some sort is probably the safest bet. I bought some shielding glass from Here. and will be building my laser into an enclosure.

That said, I like the idea of the dual hotend holder as a laser holder. We would have to work out a heatsink fan arrangement that would allow us to have a good Duty cycle with the laser. I'm not an awesome programmer, but I have looked at Marlin and think I could probably make it work. Ideally I think we would like to make the entire software tool chain compatible for dual purpose use. I know Inkscape has a plugin to export GCode already.

Maybe need to sit down and make a list of what changes need to happen, and figure out how to best implement them.

Some light reading, that may be helpful.

We have some resourceful people in our little Smartrap group, I'm pretty sure we can figure it out.
July 04, 2014 03:28PM
Always mark lasers and protection glass with the accurate wavelength.
July 04, 2014 04:56PM
Here is a post that might give some insight - [forums.reprap.org]

From FreeCAD To The Real World- Demo video using FreeCAD and featuring the Smartrap 3D Printer
July 05, 2014 09:24AM
Now you got me a little worried.

I have a 4 yo son who's always around me when I'm printing (he probably thinks everything I print is for him tongue sticking out smiley) Looks like this is just too risky sad smiley

Or maybe I can just keep him out when I'm working on lasers. smiling smiley Have to do a lot more reading on this.

How fast does it cut stickers anyway?
July 05, 2014 11:48AM
MelT
Now you got me a little worried.