Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Preparing to Build... Some Questions

Posted by cosmicr 
Preparing to Build... Some Questions
October 01, 2014 03:49AM
Hello All, I'm a MendelMax 1.5 user, planning to print off the parts and build a 0.4.9 SmartRap.

First and foremost, what layer height do you recommend? I'm thinking 0.4mm? I'm using PLA.

I've gone over the BOM and had a look at the instructions, but have a few questions about sourcing the components and building:

1. I'm assuming the design I'm printing allows for the newer auto-levelling (ie no servo)? Bed levelling was/is the biggest problem I've had with my MM1.5.
2. I'm planning on using a JHead. I've never used a Bowden extruder before. (not really a question)
3. I want to use 3mm filament since that's what my current printer uses. What changes will I need to make to do this? The Bowden Tube, what else?
4. Sourcing the smooth rods in Australia might be difficult for me. Why are the X and Y 295mm? Would it matter if they were 300mm? It would only mean longer pulleys right?
5. I'm planning on using GT2 Gears and Pulleys
6. Also planning on using MK7 Drive Gear.
7. I'm going to assume any 5 amp 12V power supply is okay? What if I decide I want a heated bed later, what should I aim for?
8. I'm going to source a lot of this stuff from Aliexpress. Any suggestions for otherwise?
9. I see the bowden head on the instruction pictures have a rather large aluminium cooling block. Will I need this for JHead? It's not in the BOM.
10. There appears to be a few things in the pictures that aren't in the BOM. Such as the little (rubber?) rings on the glass bed for attaching to the printer, and the rainbow ribbon cable (which is easy to get I suppose).

All in all a great looking printer, I love the simplicity of the design, and can't wait to get started.
Re: Preparing to Build... Some Questions
October 01, 2014 03:42PM
cosmicr