Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Madmike8's Funbot build #2

Posted by madmike8 
Re: Madmike8's Funbot build #2
July 21, 2015 05:46PM
Hello MadMike8,,,,, I love your Funbot and even though I have just started to build my first 3D printer,, The Folgers 2020 i3... and a total newbie .. I would like to do another printer project after I get the one I am building now finished and printing properly,, I think building one from scratch will be a great learning experience, I was going to do their Smartrap core but this looks to be a much more economic learning solution.. question How are the bronze bushings working out,, I have access to some 3/8 drill rod ... can you tell me the lengths that are needed and how many,, also do you have a link to all the .stl files for the printer? how many and what kind of steppers.. Is there a complete BOM anywhere..
July 21, 2015 07:15PM
The first post in this thread has the Thingiverse links to all the STL's. On the first page is also a BOM. Cliff who designed the Funbot uses a Direct drive extruder. I prefer the Bowden setup, and my remix mainly is to that end along with Bronze bushing adapters. I definately recommend the bronze bushings. You can get them through Servocity.com, Fastenal.com, or EBay. I used 7x 12" length rods on both my builds. I built #2 a bit different to include the use of the MK3 heatbed, and so far I'm liking it.

So far, both printers have pretty much worked out of the gate. Cliff's pre-setup Marlin files helped with that. #1 has been running reliably for a couple months now. I'm on like the 4th or 5th roll of filament with no hardware failures or changes. I might go back and convert #1 to use a heatbed though, but it's been printing PLA just fine without it.

If you have any questions, just ask.
July 21, 2015 07:19PM
Oh, forgot to answer the stepper question.

It uses 1 NEMA 17 per Axis plus one for the Extruder, so 4 Nema17 steppers in total.
July 22, 2015 08:24AM