Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Newbie building his first 3D printer

Posted by Italicus 
Newbie building his first 3D printer
June 10, 2015 10:42AM
Hello everyone,
I found out yesterday about the RepRap community and after reading for 2 days I decided to build my first 3D printer.

I was thinking that this would be a good one to start with, seems relatively easy and inexpensive to build, but it is still my first one.

While I'm reading as much as I can, are out there instructions, step by step, that even a complete newbie can follow?

For example, how do you control the temperature of the hotend? are there sensor? connected how? I can't seem to see this part explained anywhere confused smiley
Re: Newbie building his first 3D printer
June 10, 2015 11:27AM
Are you looking to build the Smartrap or the SmartrapCore?

Look for post from RCJose, He does some excellent guides on either one... plus videos...

Whichever control board (RAMPS,MKS,Azteeg,etc...) you get is capable of controlling the hotend temperature. It uses a thermister in the hotend to measure the temperature and regulate it to whatever the gcode tells it to. There is another thermister in the heatbed if you use to do the same.
June 10, 2015 11:54AM
i was thinking to do my first one without heatbed.

Which one is the easiest and more economical to make? I was thinking about the smartrap as it seemed to be the easiest reprap to make, but looking at the smartrapcore I starting to think this may be a better option, what do you think?
June 10, 2015 01:50PM
I think, if you have the box building skills, the Core is probably the way to go.

but both a pretty good.
June 10, 2015 03:17PM
I'm messing a bit around with the settings and it seems there are many more parts to be printed with the cube than the mini, is this right?

How so? I would have assumed the cube needed less parts to be printed as the cube gives most of the structure
June 10, 2015 03:25PM
Hi.