Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Filtration System

Posted by FouthDimensions 
Filtration System
November 04, 2014 06:12AM
Does the community think a filtration system is needed for 3D printers. The following questions are asked in order to get the communities opinions.

Do the fumes and by products from PLA and ABS pose health hazard? (Yes or No)
Would you buy a filter if you knew it was recommended for safety/health? (Yes or No)
How much would you spend on a 3D filter?
Why wouldn't you buy a 3D filter?
Why did you purchase a 3D printer?
How much is your 3D printer worth? 
What is your age?
What state/country do you reside in?

Any information is appreciated for our school's project.
~ Nick
Re: Filtration System
November 04, 2014 02:44PM
Schools project or Kickstarter project?

Are you a teacher?
November 04, 2014 04:34PM
This is for a school project. I am a student.
November 04, 2014 04:37PM
FouthDimensions
Do the fumes and by products from PLA and ABS pose health hazard? (Yes or No)

There has been a study done (built-envi.com) that shows that concern over ultra-fine particles emitted by 3D printers warrants an enclosure, so yes. I would add that fire detection / prevention should be a feature of the enclosure.

[3DKarma.com] - suppliers of quality, affordable 3D printer kits and filament for the UK market.
November 05, 2014 12:50PM
Dave,

Would you buy a filter for your 3D printer, if you have one?
November 05, 2014 12:53PM
3D Karma,

Are you a vendor? If so, would you be a proponent of a filtration solution and add it to your product line?
November 05, 2014 07:20PM
Seems like a good drop-in (or drop-over) hood-with-hepa-filter-and-fire-alarm might be a good kickstarter.

[3DKarma.com] - suppliers of quality, affordable 3D printer kits and filament for the UK market.
November 06, 2014 06:37AM
Fouthdimensions: