Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

brass nuts and nozzle

Posted by newprinter 
brass nuts and nozzle
March 06, 2017 01:29PM
Hi all,
I am new to 3D printing and I recently bought a Geeetech prusa I3 clone.
Like in many other printers the nozzle and the leadscrew nuts are made of brass, which most likely contains some percentage of lead.
I was wondering if there's any health risk due to the brass surface's leaching lead?

thanks

np

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 03/07/2017 07:37AM by newprinter.
Re: brass nuts and nozzle
March 06, 2017 04:24PM
Don't put them in your mouth and you'll be fine.

Ultra MegaMax Dominator 3D printer: [drmrehorst.blogspot.com]
March 10, 2017 05:14AM
Hi thanks for your reply.
Well sure about not putting them in my mouth, but I was wondering what the risks were for example in the following cases:

- if kids handle 3d-printed objects and bring them to their mouth. PLA is pretty safe itself, but will the nozzle leak enough lead to make it dangerous?
- if kids touch the brass parts and then bring their hands to their mouths or eat?

I am not planning to have kids around when I 3d print, but should I go to the lengths of making sure they never approach the printer even when it's off?

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 03/10/2017 05:14AM by newprinter.
March 10, 2017 11:54AM
I wouldn't worry about it. If you are you can always buy a steel nozzle.

I'd worry a lot more about kids getting their fingers pinched or burned. And if you have a dual motor z axis (a serious design flaw), I'd worry about kids turning one of the z screws and messing up alignment of the X and Z axes. If those axes aren't square you can't make accurate prints.

Ultra MegaMax Dominator 3D printer: [drmrehorst.blogspot.com]
March 25, 2017 11:26AM
My printer has dual z steppers, and it does get tiresome having to measure the gantry height on each side and square it off every time. Is there an improvement I can do that will make it stay square?
March 25, 2017 06:31PM