Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Enclosure door safety

Posted by SPS3D 
Enclosure door safety
April 18, 2019 04:32AM
Hi everyone,
I’m currently working on a printer that prints glue along a given path. For this I am using Ramps 1.4 and an Arduino Mega with the Marlin firmware.
This is my first time working with Marlin or 3D printer firmware in general. So forgive me if I'm missing something obvious.
For the last few days I have been trying to figure out how to get the printer to stop printing when a switch gets triggered. Unfortunately I have found no way to get this to work.

I have tried the following:

• - Using an available endstop connection with "ABORT_ON_ENDSTOP_HIT_FEATURE_ENABLED".
    • This resulted in the printer aborting the current command and starting the next move. ("M540, Endstops Abort SD / M120, Endstops enabled" are enabled aswell)

• - Using the FILAMENT_RUNOUT_SENSOR feature to detect the door opening and sending a configured G-code to the controller.
    • This resulted in the printer not responding at all. Command to park the head is blocked by full queue.

• - FILAMENT_RUNOUT_SENSOR with G-code command "M600, Filament change" configured.
    • Same result as noted above.

• - FILAMENT_RUNOUT_SENSOR with G-code command "M410, Quickstop" configured. EMERGENCY_PARSER was enabled aswell.
    • This resulted in the M410 command being added to the top of the queue, but it gets ignored by the controller.

• - Sending M410 to an available serial port on the controller.
    • This resulted in the controller still ignoring the command. Though when using Pronterface to send the command it picks it up and stops the printer completely.

So far none of these have worked. And I'm hoping the community can help me with this.
    Do you guys have any ideas to get this working? or is there something I'm missing?

Thanks in advance,

SPS3D
VDX
Re: Enclosure door safety
April 18, 2019 05:49AM