Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Core XY build - feedback appreciated

Posted by fisher 
Core XY build - feedback appreciated
January 23, 2020 09:59AM
For the last couple of months i've been designing a Core XY 'dream machine' based roughly on the E3D tool changer. I'm now at the point of ordering alu plates to be waterjet cut. The idea is to create a super stable machine that can be easily modified in the future. to begin with it will just be running a single extruder but i think that will change in the near future.
Like the E3d machine all the xy movemnts are bolted to a single alu sheet with MGN rails, the x rail is genuine hiwin but the two y rails are knockoffs. im using 10mm gt2 belts to drive the motion, all idlers are mounted on shoulder bolts screwed directly into the alu sheet.
The Z axis is made up of components i managed to 'salvage' from work (I work as a design engineer) so there are 2 13mm THK rails mounted on a 4040 extrusion, these are being driven by a IGUS integrated leadscrew and stepper.

I would apriciate constructive feedback on the design, its taken a fair few itterations to get to this point.

If you would like the solidworks files i have uploaded them on openbuilds [openbuilds.com]

Cheers!
Attachments:
open | download - Annotation 2020-01-23 142737.png (111.9 KB)
open | download - Annotation 2020-01-23 142850.png (258.8 KB)
open | download - Annotation 2020-01-23 142951.png (161.1 KB)
open | download - Annotation 2020-01-09 162730.png (93.6 KB)
open | download - Annotation 2020-01-09 162916.png (70 KB)
open | download - Annotation 2020-01-09 162942.png (61.9 KB)
open | download - tapping locations.pdf (102.1 KB)
Re: Core XY build - feedback appreciated
January 23, 2020 12:57PM
I don't think that frame structure is going to be adequate.