Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

CoreXY for bed instead of extruder(s), for small printer?

Posted by cristian 
Re: CoreXY for bed instead of extruder(s), for small printer?
October 13, 2015 07:40AM
dc42
I have no experience of CoreXY designs, but I am guessing that stretch in the long belts may be a limiting factor. If it isn't, or it can be overcome, then I think you should be able to achieve better than 50um resolution (but not accuracy) in the XY plane. You may need to use 0.9deg/step motors to get higher incremental torque, and small enough pulleys to get a high steps/mm factor.

Belts stretch is one of my main concerns indeed. My suspect is that in most of printers the precision of the positioning system is in general much worse than its typical resolution. This is what I see in my printer at least, where I have a micro-step resolution on the horizontal plane of about 13µ (if I remember correctly), while I can say by eye that the overall precision can't be better than something like 300µ (and I am not talking about the worst case...). Somehow such a high resolution is wasted: I could probably disable micro-steps and get equivalent results, besides a fancier surface look caused by small ridges on the external perimeters.

A more stable structure in my case would definitely help. But still it would be interesting to know what are the real limits of belts, given a reliable printer structure. I started making some measurement to be able to calculate at least an order of magnitude for that (excluding backlash given by teeth, if present), we'll see if I get somewhere.
October 13, 2015 09:53AM
Hi,

A DLP printer (resin printer with video projector instead of SLA -laser)
can be achieved at reasonable price, because there's only one axis, one guide.
You just need to find one way to project any UV image.
There's a lot of inexpensive examples on the DIY community.
Definitely, for jewelry or precision figurines, you want a resin printer.