Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

What CoreXY design to choose?

Posted by Amoniak 
What CoreXY design to choose?
April 26, 2016 10:35AM
Hi,

I’m turning to this forum for some advice.
I’ve been scouting the web for I don’t know how many hours now trying to decide what 3D printer to build.

I’m a complete novice to 3D printers but I’m a tinkerer thus my plan is to source and build it myself.
Not to have a super good 3D printer up and running as soon as possible, but rather enjoying the project of building one.
The biggest hinder in this is that I have no printer, thus I cannot print any parts myself.
There is a Zyyx printer at work, but I’m not sure I’m even allowed to use it.

The CoreXY concept has caught my attention since for many reasons but one is that by it design looks to be easily enclosed.

My first idea was to build the SmartRapCore using the wood box design. This was mainly due to the fast that the printed parts sells of their site.
And wood is cheap and easily customizable.
But since they are not responding to any e-mail I’m not sure this will be the final decision.

The Fusebox, or rather the rework of it FB2020 by AxMod has caught my interest (Basically Misumi 15x15 is to hard/expensive to get in Europe, but 2020 extrusions are more easily acquired).

But here’s where I’m stuck and hope for some advice on what design to choose.

• Simple design, but upgradable.
• Low amount of printed parts needed to get up and running.
• Low budget. I’d like the “core” (meaning to get it up and running) of the printer be within 3-400 €
• Only off the shelf parts (no special CNC’d aluminum brackets or whatever)
• Build volume of ~ 200x200x200
• Heated bed
• Possibility to print ABS/PETG
• Structure that can be enclosed (Similar to the G&C Printer)
• Cubic footprint of about 40-50mm.
• I intend to print mostly functional stuff, replacements parts etc, and not so much models of Yoda or what ever