Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Overengineered CoreXY

Posted by anvoice 
Overengineered CoreXY
January 27, 2017 03:34AM
Hello everyone,

While I have not yet finished my first corexy, I naturally felt the need to start designing my second. You know how it goes. The first machine is probably nothing to look at, as I started building it as a complete novice. The second may be a little more interesting, mainly because I decided to over engineer it to the max. Attached is a rough sketch of a rough design of the printer.

I'm planning on using 2.5"x2.5"x.25" steel angle for the frame. Yes, you'll need to be a bodybuilder to lug this thing around. I'll either weld it together myself or have it welded depending on availability of this service in my area. I may get a bulldozer instead of a 3d printer, but might as well go all out.

I'll use 20mm linear guides for all axes: 2x for the y and z, 1x for the x axis. Nema 23 2A motors (at least 180oz-in) to drive it around. The z axis will use 1605 ballscrews for positioning. If I find the slightest traces of imperfection in the guise of z banding etc., I'll switch to better quality screws.

For electronics I'm planning on the duet wifi with a 7" lcd for control, as I have high expectations for its performance (*looks at dc42) and future upgradability.

The main idea is to get prints with absolute emphasis on quality. I'd be interested in seeing how using precise positioning components compares with the traditional approach taken to many 3d printers (round guiding rail, less-than rigid frames, or even the delta kinematics). Naturally as I'm posting this in the corexy section, this will be a corexy build. I'll probably start assembling components together as soon as I finalize the drawings, barring some major flaws discovered in the design by myself or others. Let me know if this has anyone even mildly interested and I'll try to keep the progress outlined here as I go along.
Attachments: