Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Need help with 1st time Core XY build

Posted by scarecrow2k6 
Need help with 1st time Core XY build
March 28, 2017 12:05AM
Hello guys, I have never used a CoreXY setup before, however I have put together Prusa i3 and a Delta kits. I am planning on building a new machine using Tech2C's Hypercube template and I would really appreciate if someone could answer couple of my questions.

1. To get a 400x400x300 build, what size of extrusions would I need to buy for both the printer and the bed? Please mention them in detail if possible.

2. I am buying from Misumi, this is the only place I know, are there any other place where I can get a better price?

3. I see that many people here built CoreXY printers but instead of using the typical T-Slot extrusions, they have used the hollow ones. Is there any specific reason to avoid the typical 2020 T-Slots?

4. Anything else should I know before ordering parts or starting to build a CoreXY machine? I remember someone warned me before I bought my Delta kit that they are too complicated for bed leveling, and they were right.

Thank you everyone in advance!
Re: Need help with 1st time Core XY build
March 28, 2017 03:29AM
I only checked the printed parts of the Hypercube once, so I dont know for sure. But when you change extrusion profile/dimensions you may have to redesign many parts.
I had the same, when I chose T-slot against V-slot profile for my D-Bot.
You might get away with using 2040 Extrusion for most parts. Unfortunately, they don't offer CAD files for redesign. Maybe one of the remixes has some .STP file?
March 28, 2017 08:18AM
1) it's impossible for anyone to say how long the frame pieces should be without knowing exactly how big the extruder carriage is. You have some basic work to do and some decisions to make. See #4 below.

2) I buy 40x40 mm t-slot extrusions from local scrap yards for $2.50 per lb (about 1 foot per lb). Check your local scrap yards.