Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Core XY vs Hbot Build

Posted by rikesh942010 
Core XY vs Hbot Build
May 10, 2017 03:33AM
Hi Guys,

I have never tried building a Hbot before but I heard from a lot of people that its not as good as Corexy.
is it mainly the racking of the gantry that people have a problem with.

I will be creating most of the parts using 5mm Aluminium so it will be very strong.

I simply need a design that would allow me to put the extruders in the front and the motors in the back, core xy system the belts come in the way. any suggestions?

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 05/11/2017 06:58AM by rikesh942010.
Re: Core XY vs Hbot Build
May 10, 2017 06:22AM
I've built a D-Bot, where the belts run inside the extrusions. I have made an extra frame for extruders and filament holders on top of it.
May 10, 2017 01:13PM
CoreXY has both advantages and disadvantages when compared to the H-Bot belt path, but I think that in general it is overrated by hobbiysts. I prefer H-Bot to CoreXY.

Stratasys uses the H-Bot belt path in some of their printers, and H-Bots are also very common in high performance industrial systems (pick and place type stuff). In contrast, the CoreXY design is only found in very low cost hobbiyst builds.

If you are willing to build your printer with sufficient rigidity the H-Bot design is probably the superior choice.

An analogous situation is bowden vs direct drive extruders. Some people feel that bowden extruders produce better prints, but from a different perspective bowden is nothing more than a weight-saving measure. A direct drive extruder will perform better at the same speed/accelerations, its just that the printer will become much more expensive to carry the additional weight.

CoreXY and Bowden are smart choices when you want to build light and cheap, but are not the "best" design by any means.
May 10, 2017 05:36PM
Mr Numbers,