Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

MiniM's Core XY project

Posted by minim 
MiniM's Core XY project
August 14, 2017 03:54PM

Time for a buildthread for my CoreXY machine. I'm posting here since this is my first build and I need input on what stupid things I have designed that will not work so I can change them before building. Need all the help I can get so please post your thoughts smiling smiley

In short it's going to be built off these components:
-3030 Bosch Rexroth extrusions
-3030 Bosch Rexroth corner cubes
-2x MGN 15 500mm for the Y rails
-1X MGN 12 500mm for the X rail
-3X MGN 12 500mm for the Z axis
-3x 1204 ballscrews for the Z axis
-GT2 belt for the core xy mechanism
-3d printed parts but designed with CNC machininig in mind for all but the hotend mount.
-Guesstimated print area of approx 440x440x390mm
-5mm alu bed with 800W 230V bed
-2x NEMA17 steppers for core xy
-1x NeMA17 geared down for the Z axis joined by belt between the ballscrews
-Titan aero extruder
-Corner brackets to ensure rigid frame (not in CAD drawing)
-Duet Wifi eletronics
-Bed probing is undecided yet as I'm testing various setupts on my other printer (FSR or IR-sensor is the most likely choice)

Snapshot of the core xy design without crossing belts

And I'm getting ready to chop the extrusions once they arrive. It's designed to us 590mm extrusions all over so I'm going to cut 16 of those in the same lenght.

The Z axis design is not complete yet as I think this will be very hard to align and there is a big chance of binding and overconstrain with fixed mounted ballscrews and linear rails on 3 spots. This is usual to do on CNC machines but aligning this in extrusions might be a nightmare. I didn't draw the supporting 3030 for the linear rail on the Z axis either but since I'm clueless on how to make the Z so it's very rigid I stopped at this.
Re: MiniM's Core XY project
August 14, 2017 07:45PM