Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Introducing myself and some cuestions about bed design in CoreXY

Posted by EgonVLC 
Introducing myself and some cuestions about bed design in CoreXY
February 12, 2019 07:33AM
First of all, let me introduce myself, as this is my very first post here! I'm an electrical engineer and software engineer from Spain, but I really like all kind of tecnical challenges. My 3D printing adventures began almost 2 years ago, with a Tevo Tarantula (I said I like challenges, didn't I...?). It kind of printed ok-ish after assembly, but it had an awful lot of limitations. As any unexperienced thingiverser out there, I printed all "improvements" I found, sometimes for the better, sometimes... not, but I learned A LOT in the process. Thing is that some months ago I completely redesigned my printer, up to the point it was no longer a Tarantula anymore: I made a sturdy bolted 2020 structure, dual 12mm smooth rod bed support, linear guide X and double linear guide and double leadcrew Z, almost everything bolted metal or metal supported. I've managed to get a very good quality and layer registration up to 0.08mm layer height, so 0.2mm printing is near flawless. But the speed is not so great, moving a heavy bed at more than 60mm/s (and 30mm/s perimeters) shows more ringing that I'd like, and I have to keep acceleration below 1000mm/s. So be it called the "3DEgon 1". Now I'm aiming to an all new config for "3DEgon 2", and CoreXY is the architecture I gravitated to.