Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Repsis: A 3D printer with a heated chamber i made

Posted by lucassiglo21 
Repsis: A 3D printer with a heated chamber i made
May 01, 2019 12:56PM
hi, this is a 3d printer i've been working on for the last 2 months, it's a fully enclosed printer with heated chamber. it heats up the air with a 500w heater, and it has four big blowers on the sides to move the air around..it's excellent with abs and so on..the blowers are also excellent for pla, turning off the heater. the firmware is the latest marlin bugfix, which now supports a heated chamber. i added the chamber to the lcd info screen which wasn't implemented.

https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:3600505

Re: Repsis: A 3D printer with a heated chamber i made
May 02, 2019 07:02PM
Nice. I especially like the electronics compartment.
May 03, 2019 02:03AM
Nice! - how does the printed parts hold up inside the heated chamber?
May 03, 2019 11:00AM
It looks like a really solid, well planned build.
Don't those multiple blowers ruin ABS prints, or is the chamber so hot it doesn't cause a problem? How hot does the chamber get when you're printing?
Will the blower motors' built-in drivers tolerate the heat in the chamber?

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 05/03/2019 11:03AM by the_digital_dentist.

Ultra MegaMax Dominator 3D printer: [drmrehorst.blogspot.com]
May 09, 2019 06:55PM
the_digital_dentist
Don't those multiple blowers ruin ABS prints, or is the chamber so hot it doesn't cause a problem? How hot does the chamber get when you're printing?

If you can get the blown air so hot that it is between the HDT and the Tg, then that is the ideal scenario because it prints the fresh layers, cools them down quickly to the Tg but not so low that it starts to solidify completely and warp.
I use the same concept with a 2500w heating element and a huge fan to "cool" PPSU prints to 212°C. No warping whatsoever.
The concept is not really new, every stratasys machine uses it.