Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Does this work? hot smiley

Posted by Morbi 
Does this work? hot smiley
November 28, 2019 02:39PM
Hi!

I'm currently in the designing process of building my own CoreXY custom 3D printer.

The main issue I have is that in order to build a 3D printer, most people use an existing 3D printer to print parts for the new one.
In my case, mine just broke... So I don't have the option to do so.
Therefore, I will build my 3D printer all in wood. MDF and solid wood to be precise.

I have acces to professional grade woodworking machines since I make furniture for a living.

My questions are:

- Is it possible to support a heated bed using two linear rails at the sides on the back of the bed and two lead screws at the sides on the front. See image for reference

- Whitch way should I mount the linear rail for the x axis? Vertical or horizontal?

More troubles will surely come so I will probably post updates as I go.

Thanks in advance!

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 11/28/2019 02:39PM by Morbi.
Re: Does this work?
November 28, 2019 11:15PM
You're putting the screws far from the bearing blocks. The bed is a lever with the fulcrum at the screws/nuts. There's nothing supporting the bed at the bearing blocks, so it's going to pivot on the screws and droop at the bearings. The screws have the full length of the bed to act as a lever to tilt it more. It will probably bind and won't move.

The screws should be put as close to the bearing blocks as possible. If you're only going to use two screws, it's probably best to put them and the bearings near the center of the bed.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 11/30/2019 03:02PM by the_digital_dentist.

Ultra MegaMax Dominator 3D printer: [drmrehorst.blogspot.com]
Re: Does this work? hot smiley
November 29, 2019 03:56AM
Ok! Thank you for your response!

So basically, I keep the linear rails where they are and put the lead screws on the sides at the center of the bed.