Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Stop me from making rookie mistakes - CoreXY

Posted by Storckenfeldt 
Stop me from making rookie mistakes - CoreXY
July 09, 2020 10:16AM
Hi Guys!
Been lurking around here for a while and want to get some input on my build.
I've worked with printers, lasers and other NC-machines for a while, but this is my first 3d-printer build.

My main goal is to build a rigid quality machine. Hopefully it will be able to maintain quality at high speeds (hopefully 200-300mm/s).

To give some perspective, the extrusions are 30x30mm and the aluminium bed measures 500x500 (printable area ca 400x400mm)

I wont take credit for the design, it's heavily inspired by 3d distributed [3ddistributed.com] but I also looked at railcore, BLV-Cube etc. for inspiration.

Any opinions, really don't want to make any rookie mistakes since it's my first build.

Thoughts and questions:

1. Belt path? I chose to place the 9mm GT2 belts inside the frame (instead of the more common approach to put it above the frame) for two reasons - easier to enclose, and primarily because I imagine it will be more rigid since all moving parts are in the same plane (?) The cost is of cause a bit of print are. Would any other belt path design be more rigid?

2. Z-axis mount? How would you fasten the aluminium tool plate in the angle mounts? I'm thinking of placing a spring washer or a short spring between the screw and the mount to allow some movement for heat expansion and allow the independent Z axis motors to do their job.Would that be sufficent? Is it preferable to have the linear guide and lead screw in axis as on the pictures, or should them be placed side by side or any other way?

3. Torque? Im planning on using these 59Ncm steppers, but with a custom ordered longer shaft so I can fit the big pulleys and a bearing supporting the long shaft [www.omc-stepperonline.com]