Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

A big X carriage problem

Posted by wec71 
A big X carriage problem
May 06, 2021 09:18AM
Hello everybody.

I am new on the forum so I want to introduce myself ...
I am a computer expert with a passion for electronics and technology. I have been interested in 3d printing for about 2 years.

My first printer was a Tronxy x5sa that, for a good start, arrived with the motherboard line driver broken ...
So 2 minutes after I finished mounting the printer, I started a printer upgrade with no object yet printed !!!
I'm not going to dwell on the upgrade, because by now the Tronxy has finished its days and has a devastated plate (too much adhesion of the PLA +) ...
For the Tronxy I created a "box" with a rudimentary filtering system that you see below:

3D Printer Box

I then decided to try to build a CoreXY with these features: 400x400x500, Duet3d wi-fi, 800W heating plate, 24v power supply (2000W max), Nema 23 motors, double Z motor with ball screws, BondTech extruder and hotend Mosquito Magnum Slice Engeenering. The movements in X and Y are mounted on rail mgn12h. All the hardware part is isolated from the electronic and power part. Signals and power are transmitted via a sort of bus built with aeronautical connectors (high currents). Duet directly controls only the extruder motor (the only Nema17). The other motors are controlled by external drivers (DM542 if I remember correctly ...). The plate is controlled by a solid state relay and I inserted a temperature probe under the plate connected to a thermostatic relay which in turn triggers a bistable relay, cutting off the current in case of too high temperatures.