Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Just discovered this 2 weeks ago!!!!

Posted by C15Fudge 
Just discovered this 2 weeks ago!!!!
January 27, 2012 02:13AM
So, I've known for a long time that 3D Printers exist, but until about 2 weeks ago, I had no idea how accessible they had become!!! Now, the more research I do, the more excited I get, and I've learned more in the past week about 3D printing than I ever thought possible.

Now, for the next step. I am currently on the hunt for my very own 3D Printer. Here comes the problem. I am NOT an engineer, or a programmer, or a builder of things. I'm more of a hobbyist and enjoy making small things like jewelry and crafts (hence the reason I want a 3D printer). So, in doing some research, I think I've settled on either a prusa mendel, a makerbot thing-o-matic (if I can afford it), or a printrbot (if I can manage to wait that long for them to get their store up and running). The thing is, I don't really want to put it together myself since I'm not sure how well that would go and I don't want to chance it.

Anyway, the reason I'm posting. In anticipation of getting my very own toy, I've been looking into 3D printing software, and found a couple of options. I tried downloading openscad as well as blender onto my Mac. However, neither would work. In doing some research, I found that, since I have a Mac OS X, version 10.4, neither current update of those programs will run on my Mac. Well, I couldn't find a version of either program (or any different program) that would work on my computer.