Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Any reprappers in Ohio or Wisconsin?

Posted by ethan 
Any reprappers in Ohio or Wisconsin?
June 06, 2007 03:36PM
Hi,

I have been checking out various reprap projects and wanted to know if there was anyone in Ohio (Columbus, preferably) or Wisconsin (near Madison) with a Darwin so I could see one in action, and perhaps participate in some of the self-replication aspects of the project.

I'm an experienced hardware technician and systems programmer, so I'm equally comfortable with a soldering iron or microcontroller code. If I can get some nearby assistance with repstrapping a Darwin, I'm very likely to jump right in with both feet.

One of the reasons I find this technology to be so full of promise is that I spend winters at the South Pole, where we have to made do with spares and supplies on hand from February to October - no resupply possible. We have a (non-CNC) machine shop and soft metals, as well as extensive amounts of woodworking equipment, but something like a reprap for being able to fabricate small replacement parts for broken items would be an incredibly useful tool. One of my goals, if the current state of the reprap hardware is up to it, is to have a working device at the South Pole by next February when the station closes for the winter.
Re: Any reprappers in Ohio or Wisconsin?
June 06, 2007 03:49PM
> I spend winters at the South Pole ...

Wow! (I was tempted to say "Cool!" for a moment)! I was wondering a couple of days ago if we'd ever get a Reprap into Antarctica (thinking about worldwide replication of Repraps, and when we'd be able to say we have "at least one Reprap on every continent") :-)

Do "jump in" -- your skillset seems a good fit. Let's see how far we can get by February 2008! "Reprapping at the South Pole" would be a neat news article :-)

But, I'm in California, not OH or WI, and I don't have Reprap or Repstrap hardware yet anyway.

Jonathan
June 06, 2007 04:43PM