Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

some question about prusa

Posted by Rooski 
some question about prusa
March 08, 2011 12:21AM
I recently saw the prusa mendel and its simpler design, and decided to have a go at building one . But before i begin id like to have some question answered. Also im a newbie when it comes to electronic components so keep that in mind.

1.Which electronics would be the best/mostUserFriendly ? Im thinking Gen6 cause i assume i wont have to solder a thing, and its just one board.

2.Which type or extruder hot end would be the least error prone , and give the best results? nichrome or resistor ?

3.What if any, are the benefits of using nema 23's over 17' , and what degree/step would be best ?

4.Should i invest in a heated bed right from the start or is it something easily added? Will the electronics used have to be changed to work with the new bed?

5.Anything else you think i should know.

Thanks for your time.

Edited 3 time(s). Last edit at 03/08/2011 12:29AM by Rooski.
Re: some question about prusa
March 08, 2011 01:30AM
I'm almost finished building a Mendel Prusa SAE version.

The extruder is Wade's. The hot end, I made from a brass air hose coupling and a 0.023" MIG Welder Tip. To this, I clamped an aluminum block with a wire-wound resistor embedded on one side.

While I'm still waiting for stepper drivers (I'm using RAMPS electronics), I connected the extruder to a LAM Tech stepper driver, and tested the extruder up to 220C.

1. Don't know much about the Gen6, but I have to say that the RAMPS ability to plug in driver modules appeals to me, having fried drivers in the past.

2. I think the resistor hot end is less hassle than winding Ni-chrome. The resulting hot end is much more compact and clean looking.

3. Unless you have a modified set of RR parts, I do not believe NEMA 23 steppers will fit the Mendel Prusa. NEMA 17 is plenty strong enough for any job there.