Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Noob building his first Prusa

Posted by mikey 
Noob building his first Prusa
May 13, 2011 11:42AM
Hi all. I'm a controls engineer who last used an RP system in college over 10 years ago. I just dove in the pond and ordered a set of Prusa plastics, and I'm starting my build soon. I'm sure I'll be asking gobs of stupid questions, starting with these:

When I create a 3D CAD drawing, what is the processs to get it into a format the RepRap uses, and what is the software/hardware chain?

I see references to a lot of software packages, but I'm not exactly sure what does what. I have access to AutoCAD and Bentley from work, but I'd prefer to not use that as my company then has legal right to anything I design from it. I downloaded OpenScad and have yet to use it, and have TurboCAD as well. When I create the 3D, what format should it be saved in? What is the format that RepRap needs? What software is required to get from 3D to RepRap? What cabling and interfacing does the unit use to get the G-code in place?

Any recommended packages for the initail 3D design? Any packages to specifically avoid?

Is there a "for dummies" section here I can use to get from "Here's a box of parts and some wires. Good luck" to "Hey! I made neato keen some plastic stuff" without reading every single forum discussion thread and deciphering it like the hieroglyphics it is to me at this instant in time?

FWIW, I'll be using this mostly for fit-up pre-production for motorcycle parts for my other income-wasting hobby, rebuilding wrecked street bikes into workable motorcycles. It's a lot easier and cheaper to print plastic incorrectly than to machine billet aluminum incorrectly.

Thanks in advance for any help and criticism. I take both equally well.

Mikey
Re: Noob building his first Prusa
May 13, 2011 04:27PM
I would start by reading "Useful Software Packages" in the RepRap wiki.