Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Choosing a Hot end

Posted by thecrazy 
Choosing a Hot end
May 28, 2012 10:32AM
Hi everyone,

I am new to the reprap world and currently building a Mendel Prism.

Did a lot of reading but still cant decide which hot end to go with.

At the moment I am wondering If I should go for a Arcol.hu v4.0.5 or a J-Head Mk IV-B.

Im also wondering If they are worth the money... maybe I should just stick with a regular hot end like they are selling here?

-Click me-

There is also a hot end available from [www.mendel-parts.com] the guy gets such an aswesome print quality... wondering how he does it...

I really dont know what to do.

Please share your experience and wisdom.

Thank you,

Fred.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 05/28/2012 10:32AM by thecrazy.
Re: Choosing a Hot end
May 28, 2012 11:52AM
I have used the older arcol.hu hot-end and have the J-heads on a couple of my printers. Both of these are excellent hot-ends and I highly recommend them. I believe they are worth the expense. Both have longer tips than many other on the market and have less die swell than typical, a 0.50mm nozzle extrudes as if it is a 0.40mm nozzle.

The mix-shop type extruder can work very well and last a long time, but many people have reported issues with that type of hot-end forcing the nozzle out of the PTFE thermal barrier. I believe that may be due to attempting to print at too low a temperature and/or attempting to print too fast.

Camiel from Mendel-Parts gets very good quality, but he has been doing this for a long time. I've bought and used the first three versions of his hot-ends but eventually moved to the groovemount system (Makergear, J-head, Printrbot, maybe others). I respect and like Camiel but should warn you that Mendel-parts is notorious for being very slow to fulfil orders. He does come thru and his stuff is high quality but you may get frustrated waiting for it to arrive.
May 28, 2012 08:12PM