Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Help me get started with RepRap

Posted by tegtech 
Help me get started with RepRap
October 15, 2012 02:56PM
Hey I'm new here, nice to meet you smiling smiley
I've bin dreaming for a 3d printer for a long time now and have finally decided to get started smiling smiley
As far as I understand you first build a RepStrap and then use it to make a "real" RepRap.. Right?

I'm an precision mechanic apprentice, and I'm able to make metal parts as well as plastic parts. I'm pretty decent at CAD (not so much CAM yet but I'm learning)
My "only real" problem at this point is that I'm not that experienced when it comes to the electronics (e.g. Arduino...never touched it before)

If I "just" build a "frame" like this (attached) with 3 axis, and connect a stepper motor to each axis (feedscrew) and one to the extruder, is there any "plug-and-play" drivers/ curcuits I can hook it up to or do i really need to learn how to make curcuits first?? :/

I'm trying to do this on a low budget, so I'm making the parts myself (most of them) so I only need to buy the electronics; stepper motors, driver and maybe extruder.
Help Me I Can't wait to get started smiling smiley
- By The Way, this sketch is just a sketch and I will use rods and bearings or similar instead of the drawer slides in the picture.
Attachments:
open | download - Billede 1.png (41.4 KB)
open | download - Billede 3.png (39.4 KB)
open | download - Billede 5.png (39.7 KB)
Re: Help me get started with RepRap
October 15, 2012 03:05PM