Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

can I use hook 2 power supplies in parallel?

Posted by sciome 
can I use hook 2 power supplies in parallel?
November 20, 2013 06:30PM
First, I'm a noob, I bought a reprap mendel prusa off craiglist a couple days ago. Did sprinter, pronterface and using slic3r.

So far, I've got everything running and calibrated all the axis, but i'm having trouble getting the print to adhere to the glass plate. I have ABS judging by the sooty flame when I light it. (great test btw to tell ABS from PLA).

I've looked and most people suggest kapton tape for ABS. so I ordered some, it will be here tomorrow. I'll be using hairspray on the glass for tonight's attempt. smiling smiley

The issue I'm having is with my heated bed (MK1). The temperature is only going up to 70C. From what I read it should be 110C. I added some cardboard insulation to the bottom of the heated board to help, but I think my main problem is my power supply. Its at 350 Watt converted computer supply. It puts out 12Volts, but when I have the extruder heater on and the bed heater on it drops to 10.6Volts. I'm thinking my power supply doesn't have the juice.

I have another AC/DC converter that outputs 12Volts, 4Amps. My question is can I hook them both up at the same time to the same terminals on my Sanguinololu to supply more amps? Let me know what you think. I know if it was batteries it would be OK, but with power supplies I'm not sure.
VDX
Re: can I use hook 2 power supplies in parallel?
November 20, 2013 06:47PM
... you can try with wiring a small resistor (e.g. 0.1 Ohm / 5 Watts) from +12V of the smaller PS to the 'bigger one' driving the heated bed - check if the resistor gets too hot when drawing big currents ...

Viktor
--------
Aufruf zum Projekt "Müll-freie Meere" - [reprap.org] -- Deutsche Facebook-Gruppe - [www.facebook.com]

Call for the project "garbage-free seas" - [reprap.org]
November 20, 2013 06:57PM
Why do I need the resistor?