Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Strange PCU & RAMPS Behavior

Posted by stutzman 
Strange PCU & RAMPS Behavior
September 10, 2014 05:15PM
Couldn't seem to find anyone else with this problem, so if anyone could help me it'd be much appreciated.

I've never built a Reprap before and I've been sort of piecing one together through buying things from ebay and other sources. At the moment I have the Arduino Mega, the Ramps 1.4, the smart lcd, and the stepper motors, as well as an old HP ATX power supply that gives 12v 16A.
I had it all plugged in and working just Saturday night, everything working well. When I got the motors in, I decided to try and wire them up and test them. When I wired them up all they did was vibrate, didnt move. At some point the LCD ended up showing a bunch of random code and moving the dial just scrolled through it. I shut it off, and started it back up and it all worked fine again. I tried the motor a second time with different wiring and it did the same thing. I'm not sure if I left the ramps on after the code showed up this time, but I noticed the Arduino was very warm by the power input, and I think the screen had just white boxes on it.
Now, whenever I plug the RAMPS in with the power supply it doesn't want to work. The 11A input simply shows the white boxes on the LCD, and the 5A input doesn't seem to do anything (though I guess I dont know whether it's SUPPOSED to do anything with power is going solely to the 5A input. I tried using a lower output rail from the power supply and the LCD lit up but didn't show anything. Is some kind of amperage limiter blown to where its getting too much current? Is one of the fuses broken? I'm at a loss and don't really know what I'm doing!
Re: Strange PCU & RAMPS Behavior
September 10, 2014 10:15PM