Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Need help to make a Touch Screen LCD for reprap 3D Printers

Posted by pmak 
Need help to make a Touch Screen LCD for reprap 3D Printers
January 23, 2015 04:35AM
Hello Friends,

This is Pmak and I am an Engineering Student cool smileyI was thinking of making a Touch Screen LCD for Reprap 3D Printers can anyonne suggest me on this.
I would like to make the Touch Screen LCD that can work with RAMPS 1.4 .
I have surfed lot but could not get a proper guide for this so thought of posting my question on this forum, It would be nice if anyone can help me in doing this.

Thanks in advance.
Pmak
smileys with beer
Re: Need help to make a Touch Screen LCD for reprap 3D Printers
January 23, 2015 06:02AM
I've heard about several solutions using a Raspberry Pi driving a standard arduino/ramps configuration. Some people just add a bluetooth module and uses their cellphone, even for several printers at the same time.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 01/23/2015 06:06AM by Zavashier.

Collective intelligence emerges when a group of people work together effectively. Prusa i3 Folger (A lot of the parts are wrong, boring !)
January 23, 2015 06:12AM
Hi Zavashier ,

Thanks for your suggestion !

Is there any other solution then using Raspberry pi as I have seen many 3D Printers with Touch Screen LCD module such as Cube, etc....

Thanks
Pmak
January 23, 2015 07:06AM
January 23, 2015 07:10AM
Does the LCD used in the link mentioned uses RAMPS electronics ?

Thanks
Pmak
January 23, 2015 08:55AM
The Ormerod works with a Duet board. Not a Ramps. AFAIK, the Ramps is a board that does not controls any screen. It's the Arduino through Marlin. The ramps only dispatch the Arduino Outlets to implemented screens. It's a Marlin Issue. The supported screens by Marlin are described on the source below :
//LCD and SD support
//#define ULTRA_LCD //general LCD support, also 16x2